Healthy Snacks for Work (or School)!

Hello all!

With Ramadan about to end, i wanted to do a quick post about what you can eat after this month ends to maintain a healthy lifestyle. Personally I want to make sure I go back to my healthy lifestyle I had before Ramadan began, and one way I was keeping healthy was controlling my snacking.

Ever since I began working full time (a little over a year ago, omg) I have gained weight. How sad is that. But it is reality, going from constantly walking around campus, studying, stressing, and all the rest, kept the lbs off of me. Coming into a desk full time job, and spending my day driving or sitting, really has an impact.

As a result of my constant snacking, I have found tons of options that work seamlessly into my crazy schedule. However, not all snacks are ‘healthy’. I wanted to share some of my favorite healthy snack options, which I have & will be keeping at my desk once Ramadan ends!
healthy snack collage

Peanut butter & whole wheat crackers – I’ve never been a peanut butter fan. PB&J was never my favorite sandwich as a kid. But I do enjoy Reese’s, so I don’t have a total problem with PB. I prefer to eat it with something, not plain. But I was told by a close friend that having PB with crackers is actually filling and keeps you going. So I decided to try it out! Surprisingly it’s not so bad, so I would definitely recommend it! Plus it’s the best blend of salt & sweet, which I’m always looking for!

Pretzels – If you can’t tell, I prefer salt over sugar any day. So since chips are my guilty pleasures, I had to find a nicer alternative. Pretzels can be good for you, as long as you don’t eat the whole giant packets in one sitting. Again, I realized dipping this with hummus (which I love) makes it even more enjoyable! Try it for yourself!

Greek yogurt- I have recently started to really enjoy greek yogurts. I used to not like them only because the texture was way too thick for me and it felt gross to eat. But again, this was a taste I just developed over time and now I love. My favorite are the Chobani ones (Strawberry or Strawberry Banana flavors) OR the Dannon Lite & Fit (Strawberry, or cheesecake flavor-only 80 calories!!) Yogurts are a great snack since they provide dairy and a good amount of protein as well! I would highly recommend this for anyone looking for a filling and sweet snack during the day.

Oatmeal – I have never been an oatmeal person. Mostly because I used to think that it was just gross mush, but as you saw in my earlier post about my healthy meal options here, I’m a HUGE fan of the Quacker Oatmeal packet oatmeals. I even had this for Sehri almost half of Ramadan. Oatmeal is the perfect breakfast, or snack, since its filling, and provides healthy sugars, carbs, and calories.

Apple–Apples are quick & easy to eat and enjoy! Dipping them in peanut butter makes them even more filling, and it truly is my favorite fruit to snack on!

Veggies & hummus – This is a recent obsession of mine. I buy precut veggies from my grocery store, and my sister makes a lot of homemade hummus, so I bring the two in often to enjoy together. This helps satisfy cravings along with providing healthy veggies into your daily diet.

So these were some of my favorite healthy work snacks! Can’t wait to go out and buy them next week once i can eat again at work.

Would love what you guys think these ideas, and if you have more suggestions, I’m always looking for more to add to my plate!

Be sure to follow me on Instagram to stay up to date on my blog!

Until next time, xoxosig

2 thoughts on “Healthy Snacks for Work (or School)!

  1. Omg! Yes! This blog post is what I needed in my life! I’m always trying to avoid making myself lunch in the mornings cause I get so lazy. Thanks for sharing this! Absolutely love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol! So glad i could help! Try out some of these snacks, they’re nice and healthy and filling!
      I also have another post from awhile back, about healthy breakfast & lunch options, if you want ideas; check that out as well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

