Fitness Challenge: Colorful Chicken!

Hola!

So about a month ago, i came across a instagram account for a girl who was super into fitness, and she has red hair! I was intrigued and decided to just follow her page, she announced a fitness challenge for 30 days, where she would be uploading videos of 1/2 hour work outs for everyday of the challenge. She has a huge following and i think about 1300 or 1500 people signed up for her challenge! Including me! 🙂

I’m so glad i did! I wouldn’t say im fat or overweight, but i do not especially like the way i look. I dont binge on junk food everyday but i think i do eat a lot at times when i shouldn’t lol. I used to go to the gym occasionally but in all honesty, i lack the motivation to workout after work since i’m just too tired.
This challenge was the best answer for me since its so easy to do at home since its all body work out, i even got my mom and sisters to do it with me. I feel so much better about myself in this one week that this challenge has been going on. The work outs do tire you out–especially if you’re not exceptionally fit–like me lol. But if you push yourself you can totally do it! I hope i see some results in the next few weeks!

Now, living at home and working full time, my meals are not the healthiest at home. I try to be as healthy as i can while at work–taking mostly sandwiches or salads or soups and fruit for my meals there–at home its a bit harder to control what you eat, especially since my mom mostly cooks weekly for the whole house.

But i know in order to get some results with this fitness challenge, i would have to alter what i eat in some way. Here’s a quick and easy meal to eat post work out!

IMG_2434

I tried my best to capture the moments leading up to the final product, and wa-la! I call this: Colorful Chicken! 🙂

Making this is quite simple, you will need:
Boneless chicken (marinate this however you would like, mine was marinated in yogurt, garlic, ginger, and some desi masalas) *Mine was actually previously cooked too, but just sitting in a container in the fridge, for emergency use, like in this meal* If you do not have marinated cooked chicken, cook the chicken separately before starting this meal!
Fresh cut veggies (mine included: bell peppers–yellow, orange and green, tomatoes, cucumbers, carrots)
I mixed in store bought frozen pack of veggies as well, just to get more veggies in the meal and add more color, so any pack of veggies will do, mine included, peas, corn, carrots and green beans. OF COURSE, you can mix in whatever veggies you would like, or any other toppings you want to eat your chicken with!

Method:

Step one:  Cut Veggies
Step two: Steam the frozen pack of veggies while you finish cutting your fresh veggies
Step three: Once the frozen veggies are steamed enough, mix in your freshly cut veggies
Step four:  Steam all of the veggies for as long as you want, depending on how well you like your veggies steamed, i cooked mine for 10-15 minutes
Step five: Mix the chicken in the veggies and cook for a few minutes
Step six: Take the veggies and chicken out in a tray, decorate as you wish, serve and enjoy!

There you have it! Simple, easy, healthy meal! You get your protein and veggies all in one. I know it’s hard to eat healthy all the time, but something as easy to make as this, makes eating right so much easier!

I hope you guys enjoyed this! Let me know if you have any questions and let me know how your meals turned out! Enjoy your chicken 🙂

P.S DONT FORGET TO Check out my girl who is doing this fitness challenge–Bod Mon Zaid on her instagram page–follow along her instagram to see updates on the fitness challenge and her life! 🙂

http://www.instagram.com/bodmonzaid

2 thoughts on “Fitness Challenge: Colorful Chicken!

Leave a Reply

